Farmington Daniels Award Winner Lecture

Tuesday, 05 November - 18:30-19:15 - El Parque 1

About the ISES Farrington Daniels Award:

The ISES Farrington Daniels Award is conferred on an individual for international outstanding contributions in science, technology or engineering of solar energy applications leading towards ameliorating the conditions of humanity, and for furthering this cause through the International Solar Energy Society. The award was created in 1975 and consists of a certificate and an ISES Gold Membership. The winner is invited to give a talk during the Solar World Congress.

This year's winner:

Dr. Lawrence L. KazmerskiDr Lawrence L. Kazmerski
National Renewable Energy Laboratory (Emeritus) and University of Colorado Boulder, USA

Lawrence L. Kazmerski is Emeritus Research Staff Member of the National Renewable Energy Laboratory, Golden, Colorado, having last served as Executive Director Science and Technology Partnerships at NREL 2009-2013. He is currently Research Professor at the University of Colorado Boulder, with the Renewable and Sustainable Energy Institute (RASEI). Kazmerski’s 50-year professional career in solar energy includes serving as the founding Director of the National Center for Photovoltaics (NCPV) for the period 1999 through 2008. He received his B.S.E.E. (1967), M.S.E.E. (1968) and Ph.D. (1970) in electrical engineering—all from the University of Notre Dame. He served a postdoctoral position with the Atomic Energy Commission at the Notre Dame Radiation Research Laboratory, January through August 1971. He was on the electrical engineering faculty (Associate Professor) at the University of Maine before coming to the Solar Energy Research Institute (SERI-which became NREL in 1991) in 1977. His research at Maine included NSF- and ERDA-funded work in thin-film photovoltaics and the report of the first thin-film copper-indium-diselenide (CIS) solar cell.

He was SERI’s (NREL’s) first staff member in photovoltaics, hired specifically to establish research efforts in characterization off photovoltaic materials and devices; he led NREL efforts in measurements and characterization for more than 20 years. Kazmerski has more than 330 publications (h-index: 44) and some 200 invited talks. He holds 4 patents for instrument development, which resulted in 4 R&D 100 Awards.  His research interests included the DOE Office of Science Energy Frontiers Research Center (EFRC) at NREL dealing with “materials-by-design” (, for which he served as the Project Integrator (2009-2012), and solar projects ranging from the rebuilding of the electricity infrastructure using PV in Iraq through mitigation dust problems for PV collectors (with emphasis on the MENA countries).  He served as the Co-Director of the US-India Joint Clean Energy Research and Development Center (“Solar Energy Research Institute for India and the U.S.” or SERIIUS – Currently he is involved with PV reliability R&D supported by the government of Brazil—especially dealing with soiling issues and mitigation with various PV technologies – At CU-Boulder, he served as the Program Integrator for the CU “DOE Sunshot Initiative” programs on perovskite materials and solar cells. He is part of the CU materials-by-design group ( He has been recognized with several national and international awards, including the World PV Prize, the IEEE William R. Cherry Award, the AVS Peter Mark Memorial Award, the ASES Charles Greeley Abbot Award, the Karl Böer Solar Energy Medal of Merit Award, and the ISES Christopher A. Weeks Award.

He is a Fellow of the IEEE, Fellow of the APS, Fellow of the AVS, and Fellow of ASES.  Kazmerski holds joint research (renewable energy) appointment with the Chinese Academy of Science, is Visiting Professor (Energy) at the Pontifícia Universidade Católica de Minas Gerais (Brasil) and is the Gandhi Distinguished Visiting Professor of Electrical Engineering with the Indian Institute of Technology-Bombay (IIT-B), working with their PV efforts. Kazmerski is Distinguished Faculty of the Strömstad Akademi, Sweden. In 2017, Kazmerski was appointed as Distinguished Lecturer for the IEEE Electron Devices Society (EDS). Kazmerski is a member (elected 2005) of the U.S. National Academy of Engineering. In November 2018, he was elected as a foreign member of the Indian Academy of Engineering.

Important Dates

Deadline for abstract submission : March 22, 2019
Notification of Authors: May 24, 2019
Registration Opens: May 29 2019
Deadline for Full Papers: September 16, 2019
Early Bird Registration Deadline: September 16, 2019
Author Registration Dealine: September 16, 2019

Social media

Together with:

SWC 2019

SAC 2019

ISREE 2019


  •    Copyright © IEA Solar Heating and Cooling Program 2016-2019 | Login
Click to close
Click to open